0800 484 0260

Simplicity Logo

Dealing with Grief and Loss

People react to loss in different ways, and the way in which an individual deals with grief can depend on many things.

We’re here to help you understand your grief, and realise that you’re not alone.


The Seven Stages of Grief and Loss

Below are the 7 stages of grief. Whichever stage you might identify yourself at, remember you always have people you can talk to. Whether that’s family, friends or a professional. 

Grief and loss Grief and loss Grief and loss


Shock – Shock is an automatic coping mechanism of the body to comprehend grief and the initial disbelief regarding the loss of a friend or loved one. Feelings of shock can be heightened especially if the loss was unexpected.

Denial – We often find ourselves in denial to try and avoid coming to terms with our loss. DEnial can manifest in many ways; it could be denial that a loved one has passed away, or denial of your own feelings towards your loss.

Anger – After bottling up feelings to avoid meeting the inevitable, this can result in an outpouring of anger. Anger could be targeted towards the situation or yourself, as you're not able to change the present. It could also result in an outpouring of anger towards the people around you.

Bargaining – Trying to reason with yourself by doing something differently, it could bring a loved one back. We often think irrationally during this stage, and the word 'if' is using frequently, as our thoughts turn to things we could have done.

Depression – You may find yourself going through just one, or all of the above, but finally you will approach the realisation of the situation and allow yourself time to grieve your loss.

Testing – During this stage, you may continue to feel signs of depression and hopelessness, but there will be signs of light during the testing stage, where you attempt to find ways to deal with the situation.

Acceptance – Acceptance may feel a long way from where you are, but you will get there in the end. Pain may still exist, but it will no longer feel insufferable and you will make plans for the future and enjoy life again.


Please remember that everyone grieves differently, and you may or may not relate to the seven stages above. You may want to share with us a particular stage, or activity that you feel has helped you overcome your grief, so that we can share this with others. You can connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.


It helps to talk to someone.

We know that no-one can understand exactly what your loss feels like to you, but we do understand that it’s sometimes easier to talk to someone outside of your friends and family.

This is why we offer our GriefChat service.

We also provide access to a professional telephone bereavement and advice counselling service for everyone who needs it, 24 hours a day, as well as advice on how to deal with grief and some useful contacts you may find helpful.

You can ring and speak to one of our professional team on 0800 484 0260.


GriefChat is a way of connecting bereaved people directly to trained bereavement counsellors through a live chat programme, which can be hosted on any website.


To find out more about their services, click here.

Posted in

Grief and Loss

Share this page