0800 484 0260

Simplicity Logo

Dealing with Grief and Loss

People react to loss in different ways, and the way in which an individual deals with grief can depend on many things.

We’re here to help you understand your grief, and realise that you’re not alone.


The Seven Stages of Grief and Loss

Below are the 7 stages of grief. Whichever stage you might identify yourself at, remember you always have people you can talk to. Whether that’s family, friends or a professional.


Shock – the initial disbelief regarding the loss of a friend or loved one

Denial – Trying to avoid coming to terms with your loss

Anger – After bottling up feelings to avoid meeting the inevitable, this can result in an outpouring of anger

Bargaining – Trying to reason with yourself that by doing something differently, it could bring a loved one back

Depression – Final realisation of the situation

Testing – Attempt at finding ways to deal with the situation

Acceptance – Finding a way to move forward


Please remember that everyone grieves differently, and you may or may not relate to the seven stages above. You may want to share with us a particular stage, or activity that you feel has helped you overcome your grief, so that we can share this with others. You can connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.


It helps to talk to someone.

We know that no-one can understand exactly what your loss feels like to you, but we do understand that it’s sometimes easier to talk to someone outside of your friends and family.

This is why we offer our GriefChat service.

We also provide access to a professional telephone bereavement and advice counselling service for everyone who needs it, 24 hours a day, as well as advice on how to deal with grief and some useful contacts in our Guide to dealing with Grief and Loss that you may find helpful.

You can ring and speak to one of our professional team on 0800 484 0260.


GriefChat is a way of connecting bereaved people directly to trained bereavement counsellors through a live chat programme, which can be hosted on any website.


To find out more about their services, click here.

Posted in

Grief and Loss

Share this page