0800 484 0260

Simplicity Logo

Arrange a Funeral

0800 484 0260

Prepaid Funeral Plans

0800 484 0531

The seven stages of grief: dealing with grief and loss

People react to loss in different ways, and the way in which an individual deals with grief can depend on many factors.

We’re here to help you understand the seven stages of grief and how to cope when dealing with grief and loss.


The Seven Stages of Grief and Loss

There are some widely known phases that people go through when dealing with grief, people move through these stages at their own pace, but tend to eventually find themselves at peace with what has happened. Below are the seven stages of grief. You may use these stages to identify the needs of friends or family who have recently lost someone, or it might help you to know that your own grief will eventually ease off. Remember you always have people you can talk to, whether that’s family, friends or a professional. 

Grief and loss Grief and loss Grief and loss


1. Shock – Shock is an automatic coping mechanism of the body to comprehend grief and the initial disbelief regarding the loss of a friend or loved one. Feelings of shock can be heightened especially if the loss was unexpected.

2. Denial – We often find ourselves in denial to try and avoid coming to terms with our loss. Denial can manifest in many ways; it could be denial that a loved one has passed away, or denial of your own feelings towards your loss.

3. Anger – After bottling up feelings to avoid meeting the inevitable, this can result in an outpouring of anger. Anger could be targeted towards the situation or yourself, as you're not able to change the present. It could also result in an outpouring of anger towards the people around you.

4. Bargaining – Trying to reason with yourself by doing something differently, it could bring a loved one back. We often think irrationally during this stage, and the word 'if' is using frequently, as our thoughts turn to things we could have done.

5. Depression– You may find yourself going through just one, or all of the above, but finally you will approach the realisation of the situation and allow yourself time to grieve your loss.

6. Testing – During this stage, you may continue to feel signs of depression and hopelessness, but there will be signs of light during the testing stage, where you attempt to find ways to deal with the situation.

7. Acceptance– Acceptance may feel a long way from where you are, but you will get there in the end. Pain may still exist, but it will no longer feel insufferable and you will make plans for the future and enjoy life again.

Please remember that everyone grieves differently, and you may or may not relate to the seven stages above. You may want to share with us a particular stage, or activity that you feel has helped you processing through grief, so that we can share this with others. 


It helps to talk to someone

The best way to deal with grief is to talk to someone about how you're feeling. We know that no-one can understand exactly what your loss feels like to you, but we do understand that sometimes when processing through your grief, it's easier to talk to someone outside of your friends and family.

This is why we offer our GriefChat service.

We also provide access to a professional telephone bereavement advice and support service for everyone who needs it, as well as advice on how to deal with grief and some useful contacts you may find helpful.

GriefChat is a way of connecting bereaved people directly to trained bereavement counsellors through a live chat programme, which can be hosted on any website.

To find out more about the service GriefChat provide, click here.


Talk to Simplicity

We offer low cost funerals, direct cremations and funeral plans without compromising on quality, care or service. Contact us to find out more. 

Posted in

Grief and Loss

Share this page